Thursday 23 November 2017 1:00PM

Christian Gerhaher baritone; James Cheung piano

Britten, Brahms and Schubert

Booking information

Concessions are available: More information


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Christian Gerhaher baritone
  • James Cheung piano

Christian Gerhaher prefaces Schubert’s six revelatory settings of poems by Heinrich Heine from Schwanengesang with a selection of songs that show the sensitivity, spiritual insight and refinement of Brahms’s writing for solo voice and piano. His unmissable lunchtime programme includes the potent imagery and allusions of ‘Der Tod, das ist die kühle Nacht’ and cruel irony and haunting conclusion of ‘Meerfahrt’.

Britten created his Songs and Proverbs of William Blake for Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, with whom Gerhaher studied in masterclass sessions. In turn James Cheung chose to concentrate on song accompaniment after attending a masterclass given by Christian Gerhaher at Snape Maltings.

  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Proverbs 1-7 from Songs and Proverbs of William Blake Op. 74
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Wir wandelten, wir zwei zusammen Op. 96 No. 2
        • Meerfahrt Op. 96 No. 4
        • Verzagen Op. 72 No. 4
        • Über die Heide Op. 86 No. 4
        • Der Tod, das ist die kühle Nacht Op. 96 No. 1
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Schwanengesang D957
        • Der Atlas
        • Ihr Bild
        • Das Fischermädchen
        • Die Stadt
        • Am Meer
        • Der Doppelgänger

Related Series

We also recommend