Tuesday 31 October 2017 7:30PM

Elias String Quartet

In Beethoven's Footsteps


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Elias String Quartet

Webern’s intensely romantic Langsamer Satz was inspired by a hiking holiday taken by the composer and his fiancée in the foothills of the Austrian Alps. Shot through with resonances of Beethoven, this programme is completed with Bartók’s Fourth String Quartet and Brahms’s Op. 51 No. 2, two works distinguished by their thematic unity and allusions to folk music.

  • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
        • Langsamer Satz
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • String Quartet No. 4 BB95
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • String Quartet in A minor Op. 51 No. 2

Related Series

We also recommend