Sunday 10 December 2017 11:30AM

Heath Quartet

Haydn, Widmann and Mendelssohn

Booking information

Concessions are available: More information


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£15Concs£13 includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice.

Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Heath Quartet

The Heath Quartet’s seasonlong survey of Jörg Widmann’s five string quartets continues, placing the German composer’s ‘Jagdquartett’ in company with two works marked by their intense concentration and foreboding.

Widmann’s work echoes the opening rhythms of Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony before pursuing its ideas with obsessive energy and wanton violence.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in D minor Op. 76 No. 2 'Fifths'
  • Jörg Widmann (b.1973)
        • String Quartet No. 3 'Jagdquartett'
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Quartet No. 6 in F minor Op. 80

We also recommend