Friday 19 January 2018 7:30PM

Jean-Guihen Queyras cello; Alexandre Tharaud piano

Bach, Shostakovich, Berg and Brahms


  • Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
  • Alexandre Tharaud piano

‘Playing safe’ holds no interest for Jean-Guihen Queryas and Alexandre Tharaud, musicians who practice what they preach about taking risks in performance. They are certain to push the boundaries of expression in this diverse programme, which includes two of the greatest cello sonatas in the book, together with a rare outing for the cello and piano version of Berg’s 4 Pieces.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Viola da gamba Sonata No. 2 in D major BWV1028
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40
  • Interval
  • Alban Berg (1885-1935)
        • 4 Pieces for Clarinet and Piano Op. 5 arr. for cello and piano
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor Op. 38

We also recommend