Tuesday 21 March 2017 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble; Martyn Brabbins; Adrian Brendel; Roderick Williams

Nash Inventions

Additional notes

There is a free pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 7:30pm. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 to obtain your ticket.


  • Nash Ensemble Chamber Ensemble in Residence
  • Martyn Brabbins conductor
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Roderick Williams baritone

The Nash Ensemble is joined by Martyn Brabbins and Roderick Williams for its annual survey of the best in British contemporary music.

Their programme includes works by Huw Watkins and Julian Anderson recently premièred by the Nash. There’s a London première for Sir Peter Maxwell Davies’s A Sea of Cold Flame, the last of his many settings of poems by Orcadian writer George Mackay Brown, two pieces by Colin Matthews, his virtuosic Fuga and a new work specially written for Roderick Williams, and another world première, Simon Holt’s wind quintet. The latter’s title, a hybrid of the Spanish words for ‘bagatelle’ and ‘cobwebs’, reflects its breathtaking lightness of touch.

  • Huw Watkins (b.1976)
        • String Trio [1]
  • Colin Matthews (b.1946)
        • Fuga for ensemble
  • Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)
        • A Sea of Cold Flame for baritone, solo cello and string quartet (London première)
  • Colin Matthews
        • It Rains for baritone and ensemble (world première)
  • Simon Holt (b.1958)
        • Bagatelarañas for wind quintet (world première) [2]
  • Julian Anderson (b.1967)
        • Van Gogh Blue for ensemble [3]
  1. Nash Commission
  2. Nash Commission
  3. Co-commissioned by The Koussevitzky Music Foundation, and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend