Thursday 18 January 2018 7:30PM

Quatuor Diotima

Szymanowski, Rebecca Saunders and Schubert

Booking information

£5 tickets are available to this concert for Under 35s More Information


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Quatuor Diotima

Berlin-based British composer Rebecca Saunders’s multi-hued commission for the exhilarating young players of Quatuor Diotima sparkles with originality.

Its rich textures and tonal contrasts stand in company with Szymanowski’s exquisite Second String Quartet and Schubert’s mighty String Quartet in G.

  • Karol Szymanowski (1882-1937)
        • String Quartet No. 2 Op. 56
  • Rebecca Saunders (b.1967)
        • New commission (world première) [1]
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • String Quartet in G major D887
  1. Co-commissioned by the Dina Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund in the Library of Congress; ECLAT Festival Stuttgart; Festival Musica Strasbourg; Philharmonie Luxembourg; Klangspuren Schwaz; November Music; and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend