Saturday 23 December 2017 7:30PM

Sophie Rennert mezzo-soprano; Stephan Loges bass-baritone; Graham Johnson piano


Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has changed from previously advertised and will now be as listed below.

Booking information

£5 tickets are available to this concert for Under 35s More Information


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Sophie Rennert mezzo-soprano
  • Stephan Loges bass-baritone
  • Graham Johnson piano

‘Hagars Klage’, a fine example of Schubert’s early songs, dates from the composer’s Vienna schooldays. It introduces this programme, ideal for the story-telling talents of Sophie Rennert and Stephan Loges, which includes the expansive and elaborate setting of Metastasio’s ‘Son fra l’onde’, and the touching duet ‘Selma und Selmar’.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Hagars Klage D5
        • Sehnsucht D52
        • Son fra l'onde D78
        • Don Gayseros D93
        • Lieb Minna D222
        • Erster Verlust D226
        • Idens Nachtgesang D227
        • Von Ida D228
        • Die Erscheinung D229
        • Die Täuschung D230
        • Das Sehnen D231
        • Geist der Liebe D233
  • Interval
        • Die Spinnerin D247
        • Der Schatzgräber D256
        • Wonne der Wehmut D260
        • Selma und Selmar D286
        • Gesang der Geister (fragment) D484
        • Schweizerlied D559
        • Der Strom D565
        • Lied eines Kindes (fragment) D596
        • Das Abendrot D627
        • Himmelsfunken D651
        • Mahomets Gesang (fragment) D721
        • Die Wallfahrt D778a
        • Eine altschottische Ballade D923

We also recommend