Saturday 25 March 2017 7:30PM

Birmingham Contemporary Music Group; Timothy Redmond; Calder Quartet; Thomas Adès; Nicolas Hodges

Thomas Adès Day: 'Arcadiana'

Additional notes

There is a pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 6:00pm.

Additional Artist
We are pleased to announce that Nicolas Hodges (piano) will now also be participating in this concert, in addition to the lunchtime concert at 1:00pm


  • Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
  • Timothy Redmond conductor
  • Calder Quartet
  • Thomas Adès piano
  • Nicolas Hodges piano

György Kurtág’s Officium breve, written in 1989 in memory of fellow composer Endre Szervánszky, passes from one complex state of being to another within the space of fifteen short movements for string quartet. Concision and complexity are also central to Adès’s Concerto Conciso, inspired in part by the form of a medieval French round dance.

The programme also features Adès’s Arcadiana, a work for string quartet consisting of seven movements that evokes various vanished or vanishing idylls.

  • György Kurtág (b.1926)
        • Officium breve in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky Op. 28
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • Christ the Lord is Born
        • Malostransky Palace
        • A Recollection
  • György Kurtág
        • Les Adieux (in Janácek's Manier)
        • Hommage à Tchaikovsky
        • Hommage à Verdi
        • Dot and Spot (Hommage à László Sáry)
        • Hommage à Mihály Halmágyi
  • Gerald Barry (b.1952)
        • Octet
  • Interval
  • Thomas Adès (b.1971)
        • Concerto Conciso
  • Leoš Janáček
        • Sonata I.X.1905 'From the Street'
  • Thomas Adès
        • Arcadiana Op. 12

We also recommend