Wednesday 26 April 2017 7:30PM

Patricia Kopatchinskaja; Sol Gabetta

Xenakis, Jörg Widmann, Ligeti and Peter Eötvös

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been changed from previously advertised and will now be as listed below


  • Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin Artist in Residence
  • Sol Gabetta cello

Two kindred spirits join forces for a programme packed with high energy, dramatic twists and turns, and lyrical beauty.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Sol Gabetta offer fresh perspectives on modernity and post-modernity, complete with a new version of Peter Eötvös’s a Call, a selection of Jörg Widmann’s coruscating Duos and Kodály’s Duo for violin and cello.

  • Supported by the Chamber Music Circle
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001)
        • Dhipli zyia
  • Jörg Widmann (b.1973)
      • 24 Duos for violin and cello
        • V. Frage
        • VI. Scherzando
        • VIII. Tempo giusto
        • IX. Calmo
        • XXI. Valse bavaroise
        • XXIV. Toccatina all'inglese
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Sonata for violin and cello
  • Interval
  • György Ligeti (1923-2006)
        • Hommage à Hilding Rosenberg
  • Peter Eötvös (b.1944)
        • a Call (2015)
  • Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967)
        • Duo for violin and cello Op. 7
        • interspersed with works by CPE Bach, JS Bach and Scarlatti

We also recommend