Early Music and Baroque

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

The Hall's intimate acoustic is ideal for period instruments, and this series includes some of the finest ensembles and soloists performing today.

Mahan Esfahani  © Bernhard Musil/Deutsche Grammophon

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Tuesday 12 September 2017 7:30PM

Bach

The English Concert © Richard Haughton

The English Concert; Kristian Bezuidenhout director, fortepiano

Thursday 14 September 2017 7:30PM

Haydn, Mozart and CPE Bach

Ian Page  © Sheila Rock

Pre-Concert Talk: Ian Page

Monday 18 September 2017 6:00PM

Classical Opera/The Mozartists

Ian Page  © Sheila Rock

Classical Opera/The Mozartists

Monday 18 September 2017 7:30PM

The Mozartists Launch Concert

Vox Luminis © Ola Renska

Vox Luminis

Tuesday 19 September 2017 7:30PM

Bach, Arnstadt

Xavier Sabata  © Michal Novak

Xavier Sabata countertenor; Armonia Atenea; George Petrou director, harpsichord

Monday 9 October 2017 7:30PM

Catharsis

Roberta Invernizzi  © Ribalta Luce Studio

Roberta Invernizzi soprano; Accademia Hermans; Fabio Ciofini conductor, harpsichord

Friday 20 October 2017 7:30PM

Handel's Queens

Phantasm © Marco Borggreve

Phantasm

Sunday 22 October 2017 7:30PM

Christopher Tye and Claude Le Jeune: 16th-century musical radicals

The Sixteen © Molina Visuals

The Sixteen

Tuesday 24 October 2017 7:30PM

Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale

Carolyn Sampson  © Marco Borggreve

Carolyn Sampson soprano; The King's Consort

Wednesday 25 October 2017 7:30PM

The Genius of Purcell

Jordi Savall  © David Ignaszewski

Jordi Savall viola da gamba; Hespèrion XXI

Sunday 29 October 2017 7:30PM

Istanbul; Dimitrie Cantemir: The Book of the Science of Music

Alina Ibragimova  © Eva Vermandel

Alina Ibragimova violin; Il Pomo d'Oro

Tuesday 7 November 2017 1:00PM

Haydn and Mendelssohn

Philippe Jaroussky  © Simon Fowler

Philippe Jaroussky countertenor; Ensemble Artaserse

Sunday 26 November 2017 7:30PM

Handel

The English Concert © Richard Haughton

The English Concert; Robert Quinney; Choir of New College Oxford

Wednesday 29 November 2017 7:30PM

Blow, Purcell, Handel and JS Bach

L'Arpeggiata

L'Arpeggiata; Christina Pluhar director; Giuseppina Bridelli mezzo-soprano

Friday 1 December 2017 7:30PM

Rossi

The Cardinall's Musick © Dmitri Gutjahr

The Cardinall's Musick; Andrew Carwood director

Monday 4 December 2017 7:30PM

Palestrina, Anon, Handl and more

Early Opera Company © Charlotte Burke

Early Opera Company; Christian Curnyn director

Friday 8 December 2017 7:30PM

Charpentier

Trio Mediæval © Åsa-Maria Mikkelsen

Trio Mediæval; Nils Økland violin

Wednesday 13 December 2017 7:30PM

Wolcome Yole

Dunedin Consort © David Barbour

Dunedin Consort; John Butt director

Saturday 16 December 2017 7:30PM

Bach

Ensemble Plus Ultra

Ensemble Plus Ultra

Wednesday 20 December 2017 7:30PM

Victoria, Guerrero, Byrd and more

Rinaldo Alessandrini

Concerto Italiano; Rinaldo Alessandrini director

Friday 29 December 2017 7:30PM

JS Bach

Arcangelo © Adam Swann

Arcangelo

Sunday 31 December 2017 7:00PM

Blow, Vivaldi, Handel and Purcell