1810-1856

Robert Schumann


Schumann’s Lieder and piano works appear in the Hall’s first two opening concerts of 1901 and there has never been a year without him since. Alfred Cortot, Harriet Cohen and Arthur Rubinstein were among the great 20th-century pianists to bring him to the stage, and Elena Gerhardt, Roland Hayes and Peter Pears among the singers. His string quartets have become an increasingly key part of the repertoire, as celebrated in a series by the Elias String Quartet in 2018.

Read more

Tue 12 Mar 2024

Steven Osborne piano
Bauer, Debussy, Gershwin and more
Bauer, Debussy, Gershwin and more
Loading...
This is a picture of Steven Osborne

Sun 17 Mar 2024

Mon 25 Mar 2024

Nelson Goerner piano
Balakirev, Handel and R Schumann
Balakirev, Handel and R Schumann
Loading...
This is a picture of Nelson Goerner

Sun 7 Apr 2024

Mon 8 Apr 2024

Mon 22 Apr 2024

Trio Gaspard
Brahms, Haydn, Helena Winkelman, R Schumann and Veress
Brahms, Haydn, Helena Winkelman, R Schumann and Veress
Loading...
This is a picture of Trio Gaspard

Wed 1 May 2024

Fri 17 May 2024

Danny Driver piano
Beethoven, Debussy, Fauré and more
Beethoven, Debussy, Fauré and more
Loading...
This is a picture of Danny Driver

Thu 13 Jun 2024

Mon 17 Jun 2024

Fri 5 Jul 2024

Tue 9 Jul 2024

Loading...