Moravian Teachers' Choir by Alphonse Mucha

Archived Event

‘From My Homeland’ – Music from the Czech Lands with works by Brahms
Nash Ensemble; Renata Pokupić mezzo-soprano
Sat 18 Nov 2023, 7.30pm
Archived Event

This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval



  • Nash Ensemble
    • Simon Crawford-Phillipspiano
    • Alasdair Beatsonpiano
    • Stephanie Gonleyviolin
    • Jonathan Stoneviolin
    • Lawrence Powerviola
    • Adrian Brendelcello
    • Graham Mitchelldouble bass
    • Lucy Wakefordharp
    • Ilona Suomalainenaccordion
  • Renata Pokupićmezzo-soprano


      • 21 Hungarian Dances WoO. 1
      • Hungarian Dance No. 2 in D minor
      • Hungarian Dance No. 3 in F
      • Hungarian Dance No. 4 in F minor
      • Hungarian Dance No. 5 in F sharp minor
      • Hungarian Dance No. 6 in D flat
      • Love Songs Op. 83
        (arranged by David Matthews for mezzo-soprano, string quartet and double bass)


      • The Fisherman (Goethe)
        (for reciter, string quartet, double bass, harp and accordion)


The rippling waves of Smetana’s The Fisherman areremarkably prescient of Wagner’s Das Rheingold.Dvořák’s Love Songs rework an earlier cycle tomagnificent effect and his Trio, as much Mozartianas Bohemian, was praised for its ‘wealth of beautifulmelody.’ Brahms’s brilliant Hungarian Dancesand Dvořák's beloved String Quartet Op. 96 'TheAmerican' complete the programme.

Part of