The Wigmore Hall Medal

First awarded to Matthias Goerne in February 2007, the Wigmore Medal recognises musicians whose artistic contribution to Wigmore Hall has been especially significant.

Many of these artists made their UK debuts or gave early performances on the Wigmore stage and have continued to return throughout their careers, building long-standing relationships with both the Hall and its audiences. Sir András Schiff was presented with the medal on the 30th anniversary of his first appearance at the Hall; Menahem Pressler, awarded the medal in 2011, was then celebrating 50 years on the Wigmore stage. The medal itself was commissioned by the Hall and was designed and made by Welsh-Maltese artist Irene Gunston, with personalised versions given to each recipient – including one each for all four members of the Takács Quartet!

Header image: HRH The Duke of Kent presents Mitsuko Uchida with The Wigmore Hall Medal, 2 June 2021

List of winners:

2007 Matthias Goerne, baritone
2008 Sir András Schiff, pianist
2010 Dame Felicity Lott, soprano
2011 Thomas Quasthoff, bass-baritone
2011 Menahem Pressler, pianist
2013 Graham Johnson, pianist
2014 Takács Quartet, string quartet
2015 Brad Mehldau, pianist
2016 Christian Gerhaher, baritone
2016 Ann Murray DBE, mezzo-soprano
2016 Trevor Pinnock, harpsichordist and conductor
2017 Steven Isserlis, cellist
2019 Iestyn Davies, countertenor
2020 Angela Hewitt, pianist
2021 Mitsuko Uchida, pianist
2022 Mahan Esfahani, harpsichordist
2023 Christian McBride, bassist and bandleader
2024 Igor Levit, pianist