Alisa Weilerstein and Inon Barnatan
Image credit: © Paul Stuart/Decca Classics

Brahms and Britten
Alisa Weilerstein cello; Inon Barnatan piano
Wed 06 Mar 2024, 1.00pm
£18 (concessions £16)

This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket


  • Alisa Weilersteincello
  • Inon Barnatanpiano



The Russian cellist Mstislav Rostropovich was a champion of contemporary music, and aimed to encourage dozens of composers to write new works for the cello; he succeeded with Britten, who planned his Op. 65 during a trip to Greece in autumn 1960 and completed it over Christmas. Written during a productive summer in Switzerland in 1886, Brahms’s F major Cello Sonata was composed for notable 19th-century cellist Robert Hausmann, who subsequently premièred it in Vienna.

Booking Information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.

This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25

Part of