Nicholas Walker and Mily Balakirev

Balakirev Day
Nicholas Walker piano
Sat 27 Apr 2024, 1.00pm
£18 (concessions £16)

This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket


  • Nicholas Walkerpiano


      • Scherzo No. 2 in B flat minor
      • Mazurka No. 6 in A flat
      • A Farewell to St Petersburg
      • The Lark (arranged by Mily Balakirev)
      • Do not say: Love passes away
        (arranged by Mily Balakirev)
      • Chant du pêcheur
      • Witches' Dance
        (completed by Nicholas Walker)
      • Au jardin
      • Nocturne No. 2 in B minor
      • Waltz No. 7 in G sharp minor
      • Dumka 'Complainte'
      • La fileuse


The composer’s arrangements of his predecessor Glinka are heard alongside one of the pianist’s completions of a Balakirev fragment. ‘Walker’s playing throughout this absorbing disc is a pleasure to hear’, wrote Gramophone of one release in the pianist’s Balakirev series. ‘"Bravura with integrity" is how I would describe it.’

Booking Information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM

Part of