Bach, Beethoven, György Kurtág and Ligeti
Cédric Tiberghien piano
Sun 05 May 2024, 7.30pm
£40 £36 £32 £26 £18

This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket
Live stream starts at Sun 05 May 2024 8.00pm BST

Important Information

Confirmation of Running Order

The running order of the above concert has been confirmed and will now be as below.

This concert will be live streamed on this page in HD. The video will be available on demand for 90 days after the date of the broadcast.


  • Cédric Tiberghienpiano


Cédric Tiberghien
Image credit: © Jean-Baptiste Millot


      • 12 Variations on the Russian Dance from Wranitzky's ballet Das Waldmädchen in A WoO. 71
      • Musica ricercata No. 3
      • Musica ricercata No. 4
      • Musica ricercata No. 5
      • 8 Variations on the Romance ‘Un fièvre brûlante’ from Grétry’s Richard Cœur-de-lion in C WoO. 72


      • 13 Variations on the arietta 'Es war einmal ein alter Mann' by Dittersdorf in A WoO. 66
      • Játékok
      • Flowers we are (In memoriam Árpád Illés)
      • encore une fois: fleurs nous sommes...
      • 10 Variations on the Duet 'La stessa la stessissima' from Salieri's Falstaff in B flat WoO. 73
      • Musica ricercata No. 8
      • Musica ricercata No. 9
      • Musica ricercata No. 10
      • Musica ricercata No. 11


The French pianist’s fascination with the variation form finds plentiful opportunities in works by Beethoven based on popular tunes of his day and dating from 1792-9, as well as in Bach’s work ‘in the Italian manner’ dating from 1709. Also included is a highly personal tribute from György Kurtág to his pianist wife from his extended cycle, Games.

Booking Information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM

Part of