Elias String Quartet
Image credit: © Kaupo Kikkas

Felix Mendelssohn
Elias String Quartet; Gary Pomeroy viola
Thu 30 May 2024, 7.30pm
£40 £36 £32 £26 £18

This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket


  • Elias String Quartet
    • Sara Bitllochviolin
    • Donald Grantviolin
    • Simone van der Giessenviola
    • Marie Bitllochcello
  • Gary Pomeroyviola


      • String Quartet No. 3 in D Op. 44 No. 1
      • String Quartet No. 1 in E flat Op. 12
      • String Quintet No. 2 in B flat Op. 87


Though there exists an earlier string quartet by the prodigy, composed in his 11th year, the three major works heard here date from later in his career: his first quartet (1829) was begun in Berlin but completed in London, while the third was composed in 1838 and the substantial Second String Quintet dates from 1845.

Booking Information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM

Part of