Steven Isserlis
Image credit: © Jean-Baptiste Millot

Enescu, Fauré, Koechlin and Ravel
Steven Isserlis cello; Joshua Bell violin; Irène Duval violin; Blythe Teh Engstroem viola; Jeremy Denk piano; Connie Shih piano
Tue 05 Nov 2024, 7.30pm
£50 £42 £32 £26 £18

This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket


  • Steven Isserliscello
  • Joshua Bellviolin
  • Irène Duvalviolin
  • Blythe Teh Engstroemviola
  • Jeremy Denkpiano
  • Connie Shihpiano


  • Maurice Ravel
      • Berceuse sur le nom de Gabriel Fauré
        (arranged by Lucien Garban for solo piano)
      • Cello Sonata No. 2 in G minor Op. 117
      • String Quartet in E minor Op. 121


Fauré’s connections with Enescu and Ravel are reiterated in a programme including his popular Dolly Suite (published in this version in 1898) and two major chamber pieces: the Second Cello Sonata (1921) and his final work, the String Quartet (1924) – which his pupil Ravel had long encouraged him to write. Completed just a few weeks before his death, the first movement uses a theme from his early violin concerto, as well as an opening motif reminiscent of the early church music which was such an influence on his art.

Booking Information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM

Part of