2022 Wigmore Hall/Bollinger International Song Competition

3 – 7 September 2022

Kindly supported by William and Judith Bollinger

The winners of the 2022 Competition were:

  • First Prize: Laurence Kilsby
  • Second Prize: Arvid Fagerfjäll
  • Third Prize: John Matthew Myers
  • Special Prize: Susan Zarrabi
  • Pianist’s Prize: Hikaru Kanki
  • Jean Meikle Prize for a Duo: Anna Cavaliero and Sebastian Issler
  • Richard Tauber Prize for the best interpretation of Schubert Lieder: John Matthew Myers
  • Vaughan Williams Song Prize for the best interpretation of songs in English by a British composer: Vinicius Costa
  • Britten Pears Young Artist Programme Prize: Jeeyoung Lim, Benedikt Holter

The 2022 competitors were:

Bella Adamova (mezzo-soprano)
James Atkinson (baritone) and Ana Mănăstireanu
Edward Thomas Bland (baritone) and Jenny Choo Kirby
Liam Bonthrone (tenor) and Benjamin Mead
Oliver Boyd (baritone) and Elli Welsh
Feride Büyükdenktas (mezzo-soprano) and Richard Fu
Anna Cavaliero (soprano) and Sebastian Issler
Vinicius Costa (bass-baritone) and Pierre-Nicolas Colombat
Kara Dugan (mezzo-soprano) and Peter Dugan
Arvid Fagerfjäll (baritone) and Hikaru Kanki
Sarah Gilford (soprano) and Ewa Danilewska
Julie Goussot (soprano) and Rodolphe Lospied
Rory Green (baritone) and Suyeon Cho
Joanna Harries (mezzo-soprano) and Thomas Ang
Lubov Skrebets Karetnikova (soprano) and Daniel Ochoa Gaxiola
Laurence Kilsby (tenor) and Ella O'Neill
Jeeyoung Lim (bass-baritone) and Elenora Pertz
John Matthew Myers (tenor)
Martins Smaukstelis (tenor) and Panaretos Kyriatzidis
Max Tavella (bass-baritone) and Victoria Guerrero Misas
Flore Van Meersche (soprano) and Gyeongtaek Lee
Stephen Whitford (baritone) and Benedikt Holter
Meredith Wohlgemuth (soprano) and Jinhee Park
Susan Zarrabi (mezzo-soprano) and Aurelius Braun

Keval Shah – official pianist for the 2022 Competition


The Members of the Competition Jury included:
John Gilhooly CBE – Chairman
Roberta Alexander
Olaf Baer
Hugh Canning
Bernarda Fink
David Jackson
Graham Johnson OBE
Dame Felicity Lott
Claron McFadden
Asadour Santourian

Members of the Selection Jury were Richard Jackson, Simon Lepper and Joy Mammen.


Specific enquiries should be directed to the General Manager, Wigmore Hall/Bollinger International Song Competition by email to songcompetition@wigmore-hall.org.uk