William and Judith Bollinger

We are delighted that the headline sponsors of the 2022 and 2024 Song Competitions are William and Judith Bollinger, with whom Wigmore Hall has a long and collaborative relationship. They are delighted to continue their support of new and rising talent.

Independent Opera

Independent Opera sponsored our International Song Competition in 2019. Independent Opera’s relationship with Wigmore Hall dates back to 2009 when its first Wigmore Hall/Independent Opera Voice Fellowship was awarded to bass Matthew Rose. He was selected from participants in the biennial Wigmore Hall International Song Competition and auditioned by Independent Opera’s Creative Director Natalie Murray Beale. Subsequent Wigmore Hall/Independent Opera Voice Fellowships were awarded to Gaëlle Arquez, Clara Mouriz, Dominik Köninger, Anna Huntley, James Newby and Peter Kellner.

After 15 years of generously supporting the arts - for which they were recognized as 2016 Philanthropists of the Year by the International Opera Awards – William and Judith Bollinger have made the decision to close Independent Opera at the end of 2020.

The Kohn Foundation

Sir Ralph Kohn, long-standing friend of Wigmore Hall, and co-founder and benefactor of our International Song Competition, sadly passed away on Friday 11 November 2016. Sir Ralph believed passionately in supporting young musicians and helping them to explore their innate gifts. He noted how the art of Lieder singing, which goes far beyond surface displays of technical prowess and vocal athleticism, amounts to the truest measure of a singer's artistic evolution.

The Kohn Foundation was established in 1991 by Sir Ralph Kohn to provide financial support for scientific and medical research, in innovation, the arts, education and humanitarian aid. The Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation International Song Competition was fortunate enough to enjoy total financial support from the first Competition in 1997 until 2017.

Honorary Patrons

  • Dame Janet Baker
  • Barbara Bonney
  • Christine Brewer
  • Joyce DiDonato
  • Dame Anne Evans
  • Ann Murray DBE
  • Thomas Quasthoff
  • András Schiff
  • Peter Schreier