Felix Mendelssohn
Elias String Quartet; Heath Quartet
Tue 18 Jun 2024, 7.30pm
£40 £36 £32 £26 £18

This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket
Live stream starts at Tue 18 Jun 2024 8.00pm BST

Important Information

This concert will be live streamed on this page in HD. The video will be available on demand for 90 days after the date of the broadcast.


  • Elias String Quartet
    • Sara Bitllochviolin
    • Donald Grantviolin
    • Simone van der Giessenviola
    • Marie Bitllochcello
  • Heath Quartet
    • Sara Wolstenholmeviolin
    • Juliette Roosviolin
    • Gary Pomeroyviola
    • Christopher Murraycello


Elias String Quartet
Image credit: © Kaupo Kikkas

Heath Quartet
Image credit: © Kaupo Kikkas


      • String Quartet No. 4 in E minor Op. 44 No. 2
      • String Quintet No. 1 in A Op. 18
      • Octet in E flat Op. 20


The Heath Quartet joins the Elias for what is perhaps one of the composer’s finest achievements in the form of his early Octet, preceded by an almost contemporaneous piece in the shape of the First String Quintet; the Fourth Quartet, meanwhile, is a work of the composer’s adulthood, written in 1837.

Part of